India NewsLatest NewsPolitics

Bhupendra Patel to take an oath as a New CM of Gujarat today

- Advertisement-

Bhupendra Patel the choice of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Minister Amit Shah, also the close ally of former Gujarat CM Anandiben Patel will take oath as a new CM of Gujarat at 2.20 PM.

After the sudden resignation of the last chief minister of Gujarat, Mr. Vijay Rupani, the discussion was going on about the next chief minister of Gujarat. On Sunday BJP answered by choosing a Patidar leader Bhupendra Patel.

Former Chief Minister, MR. Rupani also said that the party will successfully contest the polls under Bhupendra Patel’s leadership. 

This is the third CM change in BJP states in the last two months first change was in Karnataka of BS Yediyurappa and then Uttarakhand, Tirath Singh Rawat quit in July.

Why Rupani resigned?

The change in Gujarat’s leadership over a short period ahead of the Gujarat assembly election was a surprising move for everyone. It was also said that high command was not happy with the leadership of Vijay Rupani and the way he handled the second wave in Gujarat. There was also opposition for MR, Rupani by other BJP leaders in Gujarat.

Also Read: Mamata Banerjee to contest Bypoll from Bhabanipur assembly

According to some political analysts, even the Patidar community which is a huge political vote bank for BJP in Gujarat was not happy with the party and wanted someone from their community to hold the highest positions. 

Who is Bhupendra Patel?

Bhupendra Patel, the civil engineering diploma holder, worked as the chairperson of the Standing Committee of Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation and Ahmedabad Urban Development Authority (AUDA). Bhupendra Patel was also the Ahmedabad municipal councillor.

Bhupendra Patel is currently an MLA from the Ghatlodia seat. Ghatlodia is part of the Gandhinagar Lok Sabha seat represented by Amit Shah. The same seat was earlier held by the former chief minister and now Uttar Pradesh Governor Anandiben Patel. Patel is known to be close to Amit Shah and Anandiben Patel.

Also Read: Caste Census Explained – Everything you need to know about this controversy

Bhupendra Patel has become an MLA for the first time in 2017 by defeating Congress’s Shashikant Patel. In his first MLA candidature only got an opportunity to become the CM.

Related Articles

Back to top button