Advertisement winmatch

Border-Gavaskar Trophy Series set to kick off on Nov 22 in Perth; Adelaide to host day-night Test

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy Series between India and Australia is set to begin on November 22, as per Cricket Australia (CA). The series will consist of five Tests, with the first match at Perth Stadium. The schedule includes day-night pink-ball Test at Adelaide Oval.

Australia and India will compete across a five-Test series, a format not seen since 1991-92. The series kicks off at Perth Stadium and moves to Adelaide Oval for a day-night pink-ball Test. The Gabba, MCG, and SCG will host the remaining Tests.

India has been dominating the recent Test series against Australia, including winning back-to-back series in Australia in 2018-19 and 2020-21. Australia has not won a home series against India since 2014-15. India was the first Asian team to win a Test series in Australia in 2018-19.

Cricket Australia CEO Nick Hockley expressed excitement for the upcoming series, noting the high anticipation among cricket fans. He highlighted the significance of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy and the Women’s Ashes. The series aims to maximize viewership and attendance across the country.

In addition to the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, Australian women will play three ODIs against India in December. The Women’s Ashes will kick off after the Test series, with the first ODI on January 12. The series will feature a historic women’s Test match at the MCG, the first since 1949.

Hockley emphasized the importance of taking women’s cricket to major stadiums like the MCG and SCG. The upcoming series against New Zealand, India, and Pakistan will provide entertainment for fans and showcase the world champion teams in action. The schedule promises a thrilling season of cricket for fans of the sport.


IANS, established in 1986, is India's largest independent news service, offering 24x7 news from India and South Asia, and a preferred source for diverse content across six business verticals.

Related Articles