Connect with us

India News

EC announces voting scheme for Kashmiri migrants in Lok Sabha elections




EC notifies scheme for Kashmiri migrants to vote in Lok Sabha polls

The Election Commission (EC) has notified a comprehensive scheme for Kashmiri migrants to vote in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The scheme aims to facilitate migrant voters from Baramulla, Srinagar, and Anantnag-Rajouri parliamentary constituencies in Kashmir valley who are residing outside their usual place of residence.

The EC has issued two notifications categorizing the Kashmiri migrants as the ‘specified’ and ‘notified’ voters. Migrant voters have the option to vote in person at special polling stations or through postal ballots. Four Assistant Returning Officers (AROs) have been appointed to assist the Returning Officers (ROs) for these parliamentary constituencies.

Migrant voters are advised to send their forms, Form M for voting in person at special polling stations or Form 12 C for postal ballot, to the concerned AROs at least 10 days before the polling date. 26 special polling stations will be set up by the EC for migrant voters residing in relief camps in Delhi, Jammu, and Udhampur.


The Lok Sabha elections are scheduled for May 7 in Anantnag-Rajouri, May 13 in Srinagar, and May 20 in Baramulla. After filling the forms, migrant voters must approach the Electoral Registration Officer (ERO) of their current residence constituency. EROs will verify details and electronically transmit the data to AROs for further action.

The postal ballot will be sent through speed post to the voter concerned by the ARO Migrant, Jammu. The voter can then send the polled postal ballot through speed post to the RO concerned of their parliamentary constituency. The cost of speed post will be covered by the RO concerned.


IANS, established in 1986, is India's largest independent news service, offering 24x7 news from India and South Asia, and a preferred source for diverse content across six business verticals.