India News

ECI transfers 8 DMs and 12 SPs in five states ahead of LS polls

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has issued transfer orders for District Magistrates (DM), Superintendents of Police (SP), and DIG/IG rank officers in five states. The transferred officers will not be assigned any election duty and have been instructed to hand over charge to their immediate junior officers. The states affected by the transfers are Assam, Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha, and Andhra Pradesh.

In a regular review meeting chaired by Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar, the ECI decided to transfer several officers from various districts. The meeting was attended by Election Commissioners Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu, among others. The transfers include DMs, SPs, and other high-ranking officers from different states. In Jharkhand, vacancies for SP (Rural) Ranchi, DIG Palamu, and IG Dumka will also be filled.

In Odisha, the ECI has transferred several officers including DMs, SPs, DCP, and IG Central from Cuttack, Jagatsinghpur, Angul, Behrampur, Khurda, and Rourkela districts. Meanwhile, in Andhra Pradesh, DMs, SPs, and IGP from Krishna, Ananthpuramu, Tirupati, Prakasham, Palnadu, Chittoor, Nellore, and Guntur Range have been transferred. The respective state governments have been directed to send a panel of names of IAS and IPS officers to the Commission to fill the vacant posts.


IANS, established in 1986, is India's largest independent news service, offering 24x7 news from India and South Asia, and a preferred source for diverse content across six business verticals.

Related Articles