India News

Favorable factors put BJP in strong position in TN’s Tirunelveli: Constituency Watch

The Tamil Nadu unit of the BJP has identified four Lok Sabha seats as potential wins – Tirunelveli, Kanyakumari, Coimbatore, and Madurai. In Tirunelveli, sitting MLA Nainar Nagendran has been chosen as the candidate, aiming to capture the seat from the DMK.

Nagendran, the BJP leader in the Tamil Nadu Assembly, is seen as a strong contender for the Tirunelveli seat, currently held by the DMK’s S. Gnanathiraviam. The BJP’s alliance with the AIADMK in 2019 adds to the competition in the region, with the Congress also fielding a candidate.

Tirunelveli constituency includes key Assembly seats like Tirunelveli, Alangulam, and Ambasamudram, where BJP candidates may have an edge over their rivals. Recent incidents, including resentment against the ruling DMK in Ambasamudram, could impact the voting pattern in the upcoming elections.

The alliance with the rebel AIADMK faction led by O. Panneerselvam gives BJP a strategic advantage in southern Tamil Nadu, especially with the support of the Thevar community. With national leaders like PM Modi set to campaign in the region, BJP’s prospects in Tirunelveli look promising.

According to poll strategist R.M. Periyasamy, “The BJP has an edge in Tirunelveli due to differences between the Congress and DMK, along with the AIADMK factional divide.” With key factors at play, the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in Tirunelveli are poised to be a closely watched battleground for these political parties.


IANS, established in 1986, is India's largest independent news service, offering 24x7 news from India and South Asia, and a preferred source for diverse content across six business verticals.

Related Articles