Connect with us


Female Empowerment Shines at NDTV’s ‘Indian of the Year’ Award




Women power shines at NDTV's 'Indian of the Year' Award

New Delhi, March 24 (IANS) NDTV felicitated numerous bright citizens with exemplary achievements in various fields at their ‘Indian Of the Year’ award programme. The event saw notable figures from politics, business, sports, and entertainment being honoured in the presence of esteemed guests.

Distinguished women achievers were a special highlight of the event, with Union Minister Smriti Irani, tennis star Sania Mirza, Suvarna Raj, Squadron Leader Nikita Malhotra, ISRO scientists, and members of the women’s cricket team being feted with the prestigious award.

Para-athlete Suvarna Raj, a National Award winner, captured everyone’s attention with her remarkable journey. She expressed her joy at receiving the award, stating: “It took me 33 years to prove myself.”


Squadron Leader Malhotra, who recently received the Vayu Sena medal, was also part of the Tangail formation during the Republic Day flypast over Kartavya Path. The recognition for women achievers comes right after the Parliament passed the women’s reservation bill, highlighting the growing influence of women in the country.

The NDTV ‘Indian Of The Year’ awards aimed to celebrate visionaries, political figures, sports icons, and entertainers who have significantly contributed to India’s development. The initiative sought to honor exceptional individuals from various fields who dared to think differently and redefine the essence of being a true Indian.


IANS, established in 1986, is India's largest independent news service, offering 24x7 news from India and South Asia, and a preferred source for diverse content across six business verticals.