India News

Intense lobbying in Tennessee Congress for nine House seats

Chennai, March 19 (IANS) – The Congress leaders in Tamil Nadu are actively lobbying for their candidature for the nine Lok Sabha seats allocated to them in the INDIA bloc. The DMK and Congress finalized their seat-sharing arrangement on Monday, with Congress set to contest nine out of the 39 Lok Sabha seats in the state.

While Arani, Theni, and Tiruchi seats went to the DMK, the Congress was allocated Myladuthurai, Tirunelveli, and Cuddalore seats. The party is considering replacing Kanyakumari sitting MP, Vijay Vasanth, with former Tamil Nadu Minority Commission chairman, Peter Alphonse, for Tirunelveli seat.

Sitting MP’s JyothiMani from Karur, Manickam Tagore from Virudhunagar, and Karthi Chidambaram from Sivaganga will contest from their respective seats. However, sitting MP from Krishnagiri, Dr. Chellakumar, is facing opposition from local DMK leaders, but is supported by party general secretary K.C. Venugopal.

Veteran Congress leader Thirunavakkarsu is likely to contest from Mayiladuthurai seat, with strong lobbying efforts supported by state president K. Selvaperunthagai. Meanwhile, former state president K.S. Alagiri is lobbying for his candidature from the Cuddalore seat, where he was previously an MLA.

With intense lobbying ongoing for the nine seats in Tamil Nadu, the Congress state and central leadership are facing challenges in finalizing the candidates. Tamil Nadu is set to go to polls on April 19 in the first phase, with nominations starting on March 20 and the last date for withdrawal on March 30. Parties will have only 17 days for campaigning before the elections.


IANS, established in 1986, is India's largest independent news service, offering 24x7 news from India and South Asia, and a preferred source for diverse content across six business verticals.

Related Articles

This will close in 5 seconds