Connect with us


Manipur, Delhi, and Railways advance to Santosh Trophy 2024 quarters; Mizoram, Maharashtra, and Karnataka still in the running




Santosh Trophy 2024: Manipur, Delhi, Railways secure quarters berths; Mizoram, Maharashtra, Karnataka still in hunt

Manipur, Delhi, and Railways secure quarterfinal spots in the National Football Championship for Santosh Trophy 2024. Manipur leads Group B with 10 points, while Delhi and Railways stand on seven points each. Mizoram, Maharashtra, and Karnataka vie for the remaining quarterfinal spot. Railways defeated Karnataka 1-0 to confirm their spot.

In a crucial match, Railways secured their quarterfinal berth after defeating defending champions Karnataka 1-0. Coach Ravi Babu Raju’s team put up a strong fight, with Subrata Murmu scoring the lone goal. Karnataka’s quarterfinal chances now hang in the balance with only two points from four matches. Railways aim to strengthen their position in the group with a win against Mizoram in the last game.

Despite Karnataka’s relentless attacks, Railways’ defense stood firm. Subrata Murmu’s goal against the run of play gave Railways the lead. Karnataka fought back but failed to capitalize on their chances. Railway goalkeeper Anupam Sinha’s heroics ensured a clean sheet, securing the crucial three points for his team.


Manipur secured their quarterfinal spot with a commanding 4-1 victory over Mizoram. Philam Sanathoi Meetei’s brace, along with goals from Leimajam Sangkar Singh and Pebam Renedy Singh, sealed the win. Malsawmzuala Tlangte scored a late consolation goal for Mizoram. Manipur remains at the top of Group B with 10 points.

Delhi secured their quarterfinal berth with a hard-fought 3-2 win over Maharashtra. Bhaaranyu Bansal and Milind Negi found the net for Delhi, while Mohammed Arafat Ansari scored twice for Maharashtra. Substitute Sridarth Nongmekapam’s late winner sealed Delhi’s spot in the last eight. Maharashtra’s quest for a quarterfinal place ends with this defeat.

The Santosh Trophy 2023-24 promises more exciting matches as teams battle for supremacy. Stay tuned for more updates on the tournament as the knockout stage approaches.


IANS, established in 1986, is India's largest independent news service, offering 24x7 news from India and South Asia, and a preferred source for diverse content across six business verticals.