Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 to Have A New Format For Qualification and League Phase

- Advertisement-

A new format will be used at the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup, which will be held in the West Indies and the United States.

In contrast to 2021 as well as 2022, the 20 teams competing in the 2024 event will be split into 4 groups of 5 teams each, as opposed to the first round being succeeded by the Super 12.

The Super 8 Phase

T20 World Cup 2024

In the Super 8 phase, where they’ll be further classified into two parts of 4 groups each, the top two teams of each of the 4 groups will advance. And from those 8 teams, the top two teams from each group will advance to the semifinals, which will be concluded by the championship game.

Meanwhile, The opening phase of the most recent two T20 World Cups included 2 groups with four teams each, including both teams that qualified for the competition and teams that placed between 9th position and twelfth in the past World Cup. In the second round, the winning team from each group that had advanced to the very first stage joined the other eight teams who had previously been able to qualify for the Super 12 stage.

Also Read: Brendon McCullum Tattoos and Their Meanings – EXPLAINED

Who can Qualify Straight Away?

West Indies and the United States can qualify straightaway as they are the competition’s hosts. In addition to the defending champions England, those that made the top 8 of the 2022 competition were the Netherlands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Australia, New Zealand, India, and Pakistan.

The other two teams had already secured their spots because, as of the deadline of November 14, 2022, Afghanistan and Bangladesh were ranked 9th and 10th respectively, in the ICC’s T20I rankings.

The T20 World Cup was recently won by England, who defeated Pakistan on November 13 in Melbourne.

Followw Us on Instagram (@uniquenewsonline) and Facebook (@uniquenewswebsite) to Get Regular News Updates for Free

Related Articles