Latest NewsIndia News

Nine Supreme Court judges, including three women, takes oath

- Advertisement-

First time in the history of the Supreme Court, nine judges, including three women judges on Tuesday took the oath of office. The sanctioned strength of the Supreme Court judges is 34 now it has reached up to 33.

Chief Justice of India NV Ramana administered the oath of the all nine judges in the auditorium of the Supreme Court. The ceremony was telecast live on Doordarshan News. The Supreme Court had eight women judges in the last over 71 years earlier. Till August 30, it had only one woman judge – Justice Indira Banerjee.

Below is the list of all nine judges: Justice Abhay Shreeniwas Oka, Justice Vikram Nath, Justice Jitendra Kumar Maheshwari, Justice Hima Kohli and Justice BV Nagarathna, Justice CT Ravikumar, Justice Bela M Trivedi and Justice PS Narasimha, Justice MM Sundresh.

Senior Journalist and former BJP MP Chandan Mitra Passes Away, PM Modi and President expressed condolences

Eight of the judges were chief justices or judges of various high courts. Justice Narasimha was a senior advocate and former Additional Solicitor General before his selection to the Supreme Court’s Bench.

Justice Nagarathna will become the first woman CJI of India in September 2027. Now for the first time in its history the Supreme Court will have four sitting woman judges.

Justice Nath and Justice Narasimha may also become the CJI, if the current process is not affected.

Law Minister Kiren Rijiju said that it’s a historic moment for gender representation as three women took oath as judges of the Supreme Court. He further added that the it’s also a historic moment for gender representation as three women took oath as judges of the Supreme Court. My best wishes on assuming onerous responsibility and in their services to the nation.

Before the judges were administered oath of office, the warrants of appointment issued by President Ram Nath Kovind were read out.

After a two-year-long deadlock, the Supreme Court on August 17 recommended nine names for elevation to the top court and the government approved it. President Ram Nath Kovind also approved the recommendations on August 26.

Follow Us on Instagram (@uniquenewsonline) to Get Regular News Updates for Free

Related Articles

Back to top button