T20 World Cup 2021: The selection of 14 players in Team India is confirmed, the selection of 2 bowlers is over!

When the selectors of the Indian team make the team selection for next month's ICC T20 World Cup 2021, they will have the mysterious bowler Varun Chakraborty and fast-legged for the role of extra spinner.

- Advertisement-

When the selectors of the Indian team make the team selection for next month’s ICC T20 World Cup 2021, they will have the mysterious bowler Varun Chakraborty and fast-legged for the role of the extra spinner. It will be a challenge to choose one from break bowling Rahul Chahar. The Chetan Sharma-led selection committee is expected to meet on Tuesday or Wednesday at the BCCI headquarters in Mumbai with skipper Virat Kohli joining Manchester and coach Ravi Shastri online from London. BCCI (Cricket Board of India) president Sourav Ganguly and secretary Jay Shah (selection committee convener) can also be part of the most important selection meeting of the committee. Most of the teams are announcing a 15-member squad for this World Cup, while the BCCI may announce an 18 or 20-member squad.

The ICC has approved keeping 30 people in the team instead of 23 due to the Kovid-19 epidemic. This also includes supporting team members. There can be more than 30 members in any team but its expenses will have to be borne by the cricket board of the country concerned. The selection of at least 13 to 15 members in India’s white-ball (limited-overs cricket) team is almost certain. For some places, the selectors will have to discuss. The place of Yuzvendra Chahal and Ravindra Jadeja is almost certain for the spinners in the team. For the extra spinner, it will be a contest between Varun Chakraborty, who has performed brilliantly in the IPL (Indian Premier League), and Rahul Chahar, who was impressed on the tour of Sri Lanka.

Will Ishaan Kishan get preference over Sanju Samson?

T20 World Cup 2021: Both Rishabh Pant and KL Rahul are capable of playing the role of the wicketkeeper. In such a situation, Ishan Kishan, who performed well in Sri Lanka, can be preferred over the talented Sanju Samson. Samson has failed to perform according to his talent. Suryakumar Yadav can get a place in the team, while Shreyas Iyer is also likely to return. After Rohit Sharma and Rahul, there will be a contest between Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw for the slot of the additional opener. Dhawan and Shaw have done well in the IPL and then on the Sri Lanka tour. Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Mohammed Shami (if fully fit) are almost certain to be picked in the fast bowling department. Deepak Chahar and Mohammad Siraj are also strong contenders in this.

Washington Sundar is out of the IPL due to injury, so even if he is selected, it will be without any match practice. Among the left-arm fast bowlers, Chetan Sakaria and T Natarajan are also contenders for a place in the team. Although Natarajan has been away from the game for a long time, Sakariya can accompany the team as a net bowler.

Probable squad for T20 World Cup:

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur.

Additional Openers: Shikhar Dhawan/Prithvi Shaw
Reserve Keeper: Ishan Kishan/Sanju Samson
Extra Spinner: Varun Chakravarthy/Rahul Chahar
Left-arm fast bowler: Chetan Sakaria/T Natarajan
Relying on Fitness: Washington Sundar.
Reserve (Options) Axar Patel/Krunal Pandya for Jadeja.

Followw Us on Instagram (@uniquenewsonline) and Facebook (@uniquenewswebsite) to Get Regular News Updates for Free

Related Articles