WPL Final 2024, DC vs RCB Live Cricket Highlights

A clinical RCB (Royal Challengers Bangalore) claimed the 2024 Women’s Premier League title with their well-deserved eight-wicket triumph over the Delhi Capitals during the final on Sunday. The low-scoring final aired live from the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi, India.

Batting first, the Delhi Capitals got bowled out at 113 in 18.3 overs. The RCB chased down a target of 114 and three balls to spare, much to the dismay of the crowd that attended the game to support the Delhi Capitals at home. Fortunately, the match was available at Betway for live betting enthusiasts.

The Delhi Capitals kicked off the game well, running away 64/0 before ending the first six overs, but Sophie Molineux quickly turned the match around with her three wickets during the eighth over. From this point in the game, the Delhi Capitals didn’t manage to master a comeback as they were crushed by the spin trio of Shreyanka Patil (4/12), Molineux (3/20), and Asha Sobhana. Shreyanka Patil took four wickets as Asha Sobhana recorded two, leaving the Delhi Capitals with an incredible battling collapse.

With dot balls piling up, the Bangalore batters started feeling the heat as the score stood at 20/0 after five overs. After six overs, the Delhi Capitals only conceded three boundaries in the powerplay to put RCB at a 25/0 scoreline. However, Sophie Devine shifted the momentum for the game five minutes later by smashing 18 runs from Radha Yadav’s over, with Betway Malawi offering fans solid live-betting cricket odds.

Sophie Devine departed a few minutes later after scoring a crucial 32, putting the Royal Challengers in a solid position to win the game. At this point, RCB was holding a strong position with a 56/1 scoreline after 10 overs. About eight minutes later Smriti Mandhana and Ellyse Perry kept the chase alive at an impressive rate, with RCB standing at 61/1 after twelve overs.

Arundhati Reddy later conceded 11 runs at an essential stage, with RCB easing off the pressure. This was an incredible moment for RCB, who stood only 35 runs from registering an iconic win at the Delhi Capitals home ground. RCB stood at 79/1 after playing 14 overs before Smriti Mandhana’s departure after scoring a 30+ score.

After 17 overs, RCB continued dominating the match at 95/2 as the faceoff went down the wire. The Bangalore players managed to secure their win after 18 overs with 103/3 scoring, putting them 11 runs from the ultimate prize. Moments later, Richa Ghosh secured the win for the Royal Challengers Bangalore after scoring a boundary. This win crowned the RCB as the 2024 WPL champions, despite taking a slightly longer route to reach the finals.

RCB finished third in the group stages and they had to outsmart the defending champions Mumbai Indians during the Eliminator to qualify for the maiden final. On the other hand, DC won six out of eight league stage games and lost twice to the Mumbai Indians and UP Warriorz, helping them to top the points table. However, their skills weren’t enough to outwit RCB, who exited the tournament in the group stages last season after only securing two wins in eight games.

Editorial Team

Passionate news enthusiast with a flair for words. Our Editorial Team author brings you the latest updates, in-depth analysis, and engaging stories. Stay informed with their well-researched articles.

Related Articles