Which Team Will Win This Year’s T20 Cricket World Cup?

- Advertisement-

The T20 Cricket World Cup is just around the corner and many are already talking about their favorites. The said tournament is set to kick off on October 17 which is just two days after the conclusion of the 2021 Indian Premier League. Like the IPL, the World Cup will also take place in the UAE. The final is scheduled for November 14.

Even before the tournament begins, people are already flocking prediction sites to have a look at the T20 World Cup 2021 odds. The event will be participated by 16 teams and will have a total of 45 matches that are divided into three rounds: Round 1, Super 12, and the knock-off stage (Semi-final and Final).

People surely have a lot to say about the upcoming matches and here are some of the predictions out there that you may want to know about.

  • Australia may have a bit of a struggle to get to the knock-offs

Let’s start off with the team that may struggle during this edition. Australia may have been doing great with the 50-over World Cup events as they have won five of these but the squad has never taken any ICC T20 World Cup championship. It has only ever reached one final which ultimately resulted in a loss to England in 2010.

In the 2016 edition of the World Cup, Australia also didn’t qualify for the semi-finals and at that time, they were grouped with India, New Zealand, Bangladesh, and Pakistan. This year could be tougher as they are grouped with the 2016 defending champions and the runners-up which are England and South Africa. 

Australia’s lineup this edition, however, isn’t something that other teams should ignore. Davis Warner and Steven Smith are going to be on the field. However, Michael Hussey who is one of the best batsmen out there today is not part of the lineup this year.

  • Afghanistan will be one of the top teams to reach the semi-finals

When it comes to which team may have an easy time this year, many are saying that it will be Afghanistan. Being part of Group 2 can help the team go through the Super 12 stage with a breeze. The team is grouped with India, Pakistan, and New Zealand. With how these teams performed in the last season, Afghanistan will have to do really well to beat India. The two additional teams on the Super 12 round shouldn’t really bother Afghanistan as much. 

The venues of the matches could be an advantage for the team as they have already played a lot in the UAE. Afghanistan’s strength should be looked after by the other teams as it was, after all, the only team to have ever beat the defending World Cup champions West Indies, in the previous ICC T20 World Cup seasons. 

Also Read: Top 5 Fastest Hundreds in IPL History

  • India may bring home the trophy

The top contenders of this year’s edition of the world cup include the defending champions, West Indies, and runner-up South Africa. Aside from these two teams, India is also predicted to do really well this year. It is highly likely that India will be going against England of the Caribbean in the semis.

What could help India this year is their experience over the last two years. This year, India also has a solid lineup with Virat Kohli as the head. Kohli has the highest batting average out there today which is at 86.33 percent. Add to that the other players in the team who have shown their strong skills during the recent IPL. The likes of KL Rahul, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Shreyas Iyer, and Jasprit Bumrah are all expected to play well on this edition too. If India does bring the trophy home, it will be the first ICC T20 World Cup championship after 14 long years.


Overall, the top three contenders are the favourites at the moment. The four teams that are mainly predicted to get into the semis based on this year’s grouping are the West Indies, India, Pakistan, and England. Still, even if Australia could struggle this season, they are a strong team that could do well once they get through the 1st round. 

Teams that are not likely to do great this year based on how they have performed in the last edition are Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. India is getting a lot of buzzes but this was also the case in the last edition. They did reach the semis in 2016 but they still lost to West Indies. With that, it’s quite hard to predict who will win but at least we already have an idea of who will do great this year.

Follow Us on Instagram (@uniquenewsonline) to Get Regular News Updates for Free

Related Articles

Back to top button