India News

Ayarams and Gayarams gain prominence in Maharashtra as parties nominate them for tickets

In Maharashtra, in the lead-up to the Lok Sabha elections, political defectors are making waves as parties from both MahaYuti and Maha Vikas Aghadi alliances are welcoming them with open arms. Several leaders who switched parties or returned have secured nominations for various constituencies.

Archana Patil, a former BJP leader and wife of legislator Rana Jagjit Singh Patil, joined NCP led by Ajit Pawar and is nominated from Dharashiv against her brother-in-law Omraje Nimbalkar of Shiv Sena-UBT.

Former Shiv Sena deputy leader Shivajirao Adhalrao joined NCP and will contest from Shirur against sitting MP Amol Kolhe after losing to him in 2019 elections. Adhalrao represented Shirur thrice before switching parties.

Congress legislator Raju Parwe left his party to join Shiv Sena and is nominated from Ramtek, challenging the incumbent MP Shyamkumar Barve of Congress.

BJP leader Karan Pawar joined Shiv Sena-UBT and will contest from Jalgaon against BJP candidate Smita Wagh. Bajrang Sonawane deserted Ajit Pawar to join NCP-SP and is fielded from Beed against BJP’s Pankaja Munde.

NCP legislator Nilesh Lanke from Parner switched back to NCP-SP and will contest from Ahmednagar against BJP nominee Sujay Vikhe-Patil. BJP leader Dhairyasheel Mohite-Patil left his party to join NCP-SP and will contest from Madha against BJP nominee Ranjit Sinh Naik-Nimbalkar.


IANS, established in 1986, is India's largest independent news service, offering 24x7 news from India and South Asia, and a preferred source for diverse content across six business verticals.

Related Articles