India News

Chennai Tops Tamil Nadu with 3,726 Polling Stations

Chennai district in Tamil Nadu tops in number of polling stations for upcoming Lok Sabha elections on April 19, with 3,726 stations. Tiruvallur is second with 3,687. A total of 68,321 polling stations in the state for the elections, including 177 auxiliary stations in 19 districts.

Several districts in Tamil Nadu have over 2,000 polling stations, including Chengalpattu, Madurai, Tiruchi, Tiruppur, and more. Villupuram, Virudhunagar, Krishnagiri, among others have between 1,000 and 2,000 stations. Some districts have fewer than 1,000 polling stations like Mayiladuthurai, the Nilgiris, and Perambalur.

In Vilavancode assembly constituency, where a by-election coincides with Lok Sabha polls, there are 272 polling stations. Election campaigning in Tamil Nadu will conclude on Wednesday at 6 p.m., as per the Tamil Nadu Chief Electoral Officer.


IANS, established in 1986, is India's largest independent news service, offering 24x7 news from India and South Asia, and a preferred source for diverse content across six business verticals.

Related Articles