India News

Congress and SP to back AIFB candidate in MP’s Khajuraho LS constituency

The BJP will face competition in Madhya Pradesh’s Khajuraho Lok Sabha seat as the Congress and SP support AIFB candidate R.B. Prajapati. Prajapati, a retired IAS officer, will challenge BJP’s Vishnu Dutt Sharma in the election.

The decision to back Prajapati came after SP candidate Meera Yadav’s nomination was canceled. Khajuraho is the only seat in MP where SP planned to contest as part of a pact with Congress, contesting the other 28 seats.

MP Congress media department President Mukesh Nayak stated, “We are supporting the AIFB candidate as the party is a member of the INDIA bloc.” A joint meeting proposal of Akhilesh Yadav and Rahul Gandhi in Khajuraho is pending announcement.

Khajuraho will vote on April 26 in the second phase with six other seats in the state. MP’s Lok Sabha elections are spread over the first four phases – April 19, April 26, May 7, and May 13. AIFB and SP leaders were present at the press conference regarding the decision.

Vishnu Dutt Sharma faces tough competition in Khajuraho as Congress and SP back AIFB’s Prajapati in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. The state will witness a fierce battle of ideologies and strategies as parties gear up for the polls.


IANS, established in 1986, is India's largest independent news service, offering 24x7 news from India and South Asia, and a preferred source for diverse content across six business verticals.

Related Articles

This will close in 5 seconds