What Is A Boundary In Cricket

Cricket, often referred to as the “gentleman’s game,” is a sport that captivates fans around the world with its unique blend of strategy, skill, and excitement. One of the fundamental aspects of cricket is scoring runs, and boundaries play a significant role in achieving this objective. 

In this article, the bet in exchange portal delves into the concept of a boundary in cricket, explaining its significance, the different types of boundaries, and the rules surrounding them.

Understanding Boundaries in Cricket

In cricket, a boundary refers to hitting the ball and causing it to reach or cross the perimeter of the playing field without touching the ground. When a batsman successfully hits a boundary, it is considered a significant achievement, as it results in an immediate award of runs, typically four or six.

Types of Boundaries:

  1. Four: a boundary resulting in four runs is commonly called a “four.” It occurs when the batsman strikes the ball, and it crosses the outer edge of the field directly without bouncing on the ground or touching any fielder
  2. Six: a “six” is the highest-scoring boundary in cricket. It occurs when the batsman hits the ball, causing it to cross the perimeter of the playing field without touching the ground but clearing the boundary rope on the full. A six is awarded six runs to the batting team

To successfully score a boundary, the batsman must adhere to specific rules and conditions outlined in the game of cricket. These rules govern boundaries and ensure fair play and accurate scoring. 

Let’s explore the key rules and conditions batsman must observe when scoring a boundary:

  1. No Fielder Contact: Before crossing the boundary, the ball must not make contact with any fielder (be it a fielder’s body, clothing, or any equipment they carry)
  2. Ground Contact: For a boundary to count, the ball must not touch the ground within the boundary rope after being struck by the batsman. If it does, it is considered a groundstroke, and the runs scored depend on the number of runs completed by the batters during the shot
  3. Field Restrictions: The dimensions of the cricket field vary depending on the ground, but specific rules apply to the placement of fielders. To create an exciting balance between bat and ball, cricket authorities enforce fielding restrictions during limited-overs cricket, allowing fewer fielders outside specific areas at different game stages

When a boundary is struck, the batsmen running between the wickets are not required to run; instead, the batting team is directly awarded four or six runs, depending on the type of boundary hit.


Boundaries in cricket add an element of thrill and excitement to the game, rewarding batsmen for their skillful strokeplay. Four or six increases the batting team’s total runs and adds to the spectacle and entertainment value for spectators.

Understanding the rules and types of boundaries is essential for both players and fans, as it enhances the appreciation and enjoyment of this beloved sport.

Heana Sharma

Heana Sharma: A rising talent, Heana boasts 2 years of versatile content writing experience across multiple niches. Her adaptable skills result in engaging and informative content that resonates with a wide spectrum of readers.

Related Articles