India News

President to honor L.K. Advani and 4 other eminent personalities with Bharat Ratna on March 30

New Delhi, March 29 (IANS) President Droupadi Murmu is set to confer Bharat Ratna upon five eminent personalities, two former Prime Ministers posthumously, and veteran BJP leader L.K. Advani. The recipients include ex-Prime Ministers Chaudhary Charan Singh, P.V. Narasimha Rao, agricultural scientist M.S. Swaminathan, and former Bihar Chief Minister Karpoori Thakur.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi expressed his delight in honoring PV Narasimha Rao, recognizing his extensive service to India. PM Modi also highlighted Chaudhary Charan Singh’s dedication to farmers’ welfare, stating that the honor is a tribute to his incomparable contributions.

Additionally, PM Modi announced Bharat Ratna for agricultural scientist M.S. Swaminathan, acknowledging his monumental contributions to Indian agriculture and farmers’ welfare. The honorees are lauded for their visionary leadership and significant role in shaping India’s economic and agricultural landscape.

The prestigious Bharat Ratna award ceremony is a celebration of the exemplary achievements of these distinguished personalities who have made enduring contributions to the nation. Their legacies continue to inspire and shape India’s future, symbolizing the values of dedication, leadership, and service to the country.


IANS, established in 1986, is India's largest independent news service, offering 24x7 news from India and South Asia, and a preferred source for diverse content across six business verticals.

Related Articles