Latest News

Nobel Peace Prize goes to Journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov

- Advertisement-

Nobel Peace Prize is given to Journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov for their fights to protect freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia respectively.

The Nobel committee said Mr. Muratov, the co-founder and editor of independent newspaper Novaya Gazeta, had for decades defended freedom of speech in Russia under increasingly challenging conditions. 

It was announced at the Norwegian Nobel Institute in Oslo. The winners of the prestigious prize, worth 10m Swedish krona (£836,000; $1.1m).

The Nobel committee called the pair as representatives of all journalists who stand up for this ideal. Mr. Muratov said, “I’m laughing. I didn’t expect this at all. It’s madness here.” Ms. Ressa said she was “in shock”. She added that nothing is possible without facts and a world without facts means a world without truth and trust”.

Also Read: Literature Nobel goes to novelist Abdulrazak Gurnah

Ms. Ressa, who co-founded the news site Rappler, was commended for using freedom of expression to expose abuse of power, use of violence, and growing authoritarianism in her native country, the Philippines.

Rappler said it was honored and astounded that its chief executive had been given the prize. He added that it could not have come at a better time – a time when journalists and the truth are being attacked and undermined.

Why Nobel Peace Prize is given?

The Nobel Peace Prize is given to honor an individual or organization that has done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations. For this year’s Nobel Peace Prize the committee said that free, independent and fact-based journalism serves to protect against abuse of power, lies, and war propaganda said.

Also Read: CV Raman: How C V Raman become the First Indian to get Nobel Prize in Science

Nobel Peace Prize history

Ms. Ressa and Mr. Muratov are the 102nd winners of the Nobel Peace Prize.

Last year’s winner was the United Nations World Food Programme (WFP), which was awarded for its efforts to combat hunger and improve conditions for peace.

Former US President Barack Obama won the prize in 2009, for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples.

Other notable Nobel Peace prize is former US President Jimmy Carter (2002); child education activist Malala Yousafzai (shared 2014); the European Union (2012); the United Nations and its secretary-general at the time, Kofi Annan (shared 2001); and Mother Teresa (1979).

Related Articles

Back to top button