India News

Assembly Polls: 10 BJP Candidates, Including the Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister, Win Unopposed in Arunachal Pradesh

Itanagar, March 30 (IANS) – 10 ruling BJP candidates, including Chief Minister Pema Khandu and Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein, secure victories without contest in Arunachal Pradesh Assembly elections. Election officials confirm candidates won unopposed after the withdrawal of nominations. Chief Minister Khandu expresses gratitude for people’s trust and Modi Ki Guarantee.

Chief Minister Khandu and Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein among the 10 BJP candidates who won unopposed in the Arunachal Pradesh Assembly elections. Assam Minister and BJP’s Arunachal Pradesh in-charge, Ashok Singhal, predicts victory for BJP candidates in upcoming Lok Sabha elections as well. The state gears up for elections on April 19.

Among the other BJP nominees who secured unopposed victories are Dasanglu Pul, Dongru Siongju, Techi Ratu, Hage Appa, Jikke Tako, Nyato Dukam, Mutchu Mithi, and Techi Kaso. The practice of candidates winning unopposed is not new in Arunachal Pradesh, as it had occurred in 1999 and 2014 as well.

In the last Assembly elections in 2019, three BJP candidates were elected unopposed. The state is preparing for elections on April 19 for both the Assembly and Lok Sabha seats. The counting of votes for the Assembly polls will be on June 2, while results for the Lok Sabha seats will be announced on June 4.


IANS, established in 1986, is India's largest independent news service, offering 24x7 news from India and South Asia, and a preferred source for diverse content across six business verticals.

Related Articles

This will close in 5 seconds