India News

Chandra Sekhar Sahu appointed as chairman of manifesto committee by BJD in Odisha

In a sudden turn of events, Berhampur MP Chandra Sekhar Sahu has been appointed as the Biju Janata Dal’s state vice president and chairman of the manifesto committee by party President and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik. This decision follows the resignation of senior BJP leader Bhrugu Baxipatra from the party.

The press note released by BJD General Secretary Manas Ranjan Mangaraj stated, “Naveen Patnaik, President Biju Janata Dal has been pleased to appoint Shri Chandra Sekhar Sahu…with immediate effect.” This move comes shortly after Bhrugu Baxipatra resigned from the BJP, where he was vying to be the candidate for the Berhampur Lok Sabha seat.

Bhrugu’s resignation reportedly stemmed from his disappointment at not being given the ticket for the Berhampur Lok Sabha constituency. This led him to express his decision through a resignation letter to BJP state chief Manmohan Samal, stating, “I am tendering my resignation…I have realised that the Party does not require me or my contribution anymore.”

It is speculated that Bhrugu may now join the BJD and potentially get a ticket to contest from the Berhampur Parliamentary constituency. This development comes as a significant political shift in Odisha, especially in the context of the upcoming elections. Stay tuned for further updates on this evolving political scenario.


IANS, established in 1986, is India's largest independent news service, offering 24x7 news from India and South Asia, and a preferred source for diverse content across six business verticals.

Related Articles

This will close in 5 seconds