Advertisement winmatch
India News

IUML remains unshaken as Left and BJP gear up for a challenge in Malappuram LS constituency

Thiruvananthapuram: The Malappuram Lok Sabha constituency, a stronghold of the IUML, faces a tough battle this time as the Left and the BJP make strong contenders. IUML’s veteran leader ET Mohammed Basheer will be contesting against CPI(M) youth leader V Vaseef and BJP’s Dr M Abdul Salam.

Established in 2009, the Malappuram constituency witnessed IUML’s rare defeat to CPI(M) in 2004. This time, IUML swapped its MPs, fielding Basheer from Malappuram and moving Abdussamad Samadani to Ponnani seat.

IUML’s strong presence in the district is evident from their previous wins in the 2019 and 2021 polls. However, the reduced margin in the 2021 polls gives hope to rivals CPI(M) and BJP in the upcoming elections on April 26.

With IUML dominating all seven Assembly segments in the constituency, the battle for Malappuram Lok Sabha seat promises to be fiercely contested. Stay tuned for updates on the electoral race in Kerala.


IANS, established in 1986, is India's largest independent news service, offering 24x7 news from India and South Asia, and a preferred source for diverse content across six business verticals.

Related Articles