India News

2 out of the 6 Legislative Assembly seats in Madhya Pradesh reserved for STs

Bhopal, April 7 (IANS) – Two out of six Lok Sabha constituencies in Madhya Pradesh, set to vote on April 19, are reserved for Schedule Tribes (ST). The remaining two seats, with a predominantly tribal population, are unreserved. BJP has maintained its stronghold in these constituencies since the last elections.

Shahdol and Mandla are among the six Lok Sabha constituencies reserved for ST in Madhya Pradesh. BJP has fielded sitting MP Himandri Singh against Congress’ Phundelal Marko in Shahdol. Meanwhile, in Mandla, former Union Minister Faggan Singh Kulaste (BJP) will face off against Congress’ Omkar Singh Markam.

Chhindwara, the largest Lok Sabha seat in Madhya Pradesh, boasts a significant ST and SC population, making up close to 50 percent of the electorate. Congress has historically dominated this constituency, with Kamal Nath’s son Nakul Nath contesting for the seat against BJP’s Vivek Shahu ‘Banti’ in the upcoming election.

Balaghat, another non-reserved seat but tribal-dominated constituency, has seen BJP maintain its winning streak since 1998. BJP’s Bharti Pardi will go up against Congress’ Samart Saraswat in the upcoming Lok Sabha election. Similarly, Sidhi, although a non-reserved seat, also has a significant tribal presence, with BJP facing off against Congress in the coming election.

Jabalpur Lok Sabha seat in Madhya Pradesh also has a notable tribal vote, with BJP having a stronghold since 1996. The ruling party has fielded Ashish Dube against Congress’ Dinesh Yadav in this constituency. As the election date approaches, all eyes are on the tribal-dominated constituencies in Madhya Pradesh, where political dynamics are set to shape the outcome of the upcoming Lok Sabha election.


IANS, established in 1986, is India's largest independent news service, offering 24x7 news from India and South Asia, and a preferred source for diverse content across six business verticals.

Related Articles