India News

BJP excludes Eknath Shinde and Ajit Pawar from list of star campaigners for Maharashtra

Mumbai, April 12 (IANS) Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has released a revised list of 40-star campaigners for Maharashtra, excluding Chief Minister Eknath Shinde and Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar. This decision follows a complaint by NCP (SP) to the Election Commission regarding the initial list.

NCP (SP) had raised concerns about BJP including individuals from other parties in their star campaigner list, which violates the Representation of People’s Act. The revised list was unveiled as voting for 5 constituencies in East Vidarbha is set for April 19.

The new list features prominent figures such as Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President J.P Nadda, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, and Home Minister Amit Shah. Other notable names include Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, Minister of Road Transport and Highways Nitin Gadkari, and Minister of Textiles Piyush Goyal, among others.

This development comes in the midst of election preparations in Maharashtra, with political parties focusing on their campaigning strategies. The revised list aims to strengthen BJP’s campaign efforts in the state ahead of the upcoming polls.


IANS, established in 1986, is India's largest independent news service, offering 24x7 news from India and South Asia, and a preferred source for diverse content across six business verticals.

Related Articles