India News

SP announces an additional seven candidates from UP

The Samajwadi Party has announced seven more candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh. Bhishm Shankar Tiwari, a former MP and son of the late mafia don Hari Shankar Tiwari, will contest from Dumariaganj. Other candidates include Amarnath Mauryan, Ram Shiromani Varma, Pappu Nishad, Rama Shankar Rajbhar, Babu Singh Kushwaha, and Priya Saroj.

Amarnath Mauryan has been fielded from Phulpur, Ram Shiromani Varma from Shravasti, Pappu Nishad from Sant Kabir Nagar, and Rama Shankar Rajbhar from Salempur. Babu Singh Kushwaha, a former BSP minister, will be the SP candidate from Jaunpur, while Priya Saroj will contest from Machhlishahr.

These candidates represent a mix of experience and new faces in the political arena. Bhishm Shankar Tiwari’s lineage and political background, as well as the diverse backgrounds of the other candidates, show the SP’s strategy to appeal to a wide range of voters in the upcoming elections in Uttar Pradesh.

With the addition of these seven candidates, the Samajwadi Party has further strengthened its lineup for the Lok Sabha elections. The party’s choices reflect a combination of regional representation and potential to attract different segments of the electorate. Voters will now have the opportunity to evaluate the candidates and their platforms before making an informed decision on election day.


IANS, established in 1986, is India's largest independent news service, offering 24x7 news from India and South Asia, and a preferred source for diverse content across six business verticals.

Related Articles