KKR’s Dominant Eight-Wicket Victory Over LSG Driven By Phil Salt’s Impressive 89 In IPL 2024

Kolkata Knight Riders steamrolled Lucknow Super Giants with opener Phil Salt’s explosive 89* leading the charge at Eden Gardens. Salt’s unbeaten knock, supported by Shreyas Iyer (38*), secured a comfortable eight-wicket victory for KKR. The win propelled KKR to second place in the IPL points table with 8 points.

Mitchell Starc’s impressive bowling restricted LSG to 161/7, setting the stage for Salt’s onslaught. The opener’s aggressive batting saw him smash 14 fours and three sixes, dominating the LSG bowlers. Captain Shreyas Iyer also played a crucial role, partnering with Salt in a match-winning 120-run stand for the third wicket.

Despite a shaky start for LSG, with Shamar Jospeh conceding runs in the opening over, Salt’s ruthless hitting against Krunal Pandya and other LSG bowlers kept KKR in control. Salt’s attacking tempo and Iyer’s momentum-building strokes ensured KKR chased down the target with ease, sealing the win in 15.4 overs.

With this victory, KKR treated their loyal fans to a memorable Bengali New Year celebration, while handing LSG their second consecutive defeat in the tournament. The comprehensive win showcased KKR’s batting prowess and solidified their position near the top of the IPL standings.


IANS, established in 1986, is India's largest independent news service, offering 24x7 news from India and South Asia, and a preferred source for diverse content across six business verticals.

Related Articles